Renewable Energy and Tech Innovations

I think my next tech geek thing I’m going to nerd out on (since I feel I’ve exhausted most of the home automation stuff) is renewable energy stuff. A lot of this interest goes to a family cabin that is up in the mountains and doesn’t have any utilities. Above that though, as a breather of air in the SL Valley I am ready for us to be rid of fossil fuels.

Right now though I am a true beginner, just learning. A number of years ago I said to my son that we have all the renewable and clean energy the entire world population needs many times over and we’ve even gotten pretty good at capturing - the problem is storing it. The person/people who solves the battery problem will save the world from pollution and the energy crisis. I was trying to help him pick a career that would save the world.

We’ve made a lot of amazing progress in chemical batteries, but there remains plenty of issues from pollution after, to pollution in producing them, to the slowness of charging them and the limited life.

For our cabin we have a small spring on the property that goes into a stream. I did the calculations to discover that we have both enough water flow and the elevation that I could in theory power a mini hydroelectric plant that SHOULD provide enough power for the house to do most things. So, that may be a solution to look into. Of course the next consideration is wind and solar power. But the power storage remains the same.